The Garden Community for Garden Lovers

Xela's Profile

 

Xela

About me

I live with my two 'young adult' children in a Buckinghamshire village on top of one of the Chiltern Hills. My garden consists of three areas; the front garden is primarily flower beds edging a lawn split into two by the front path, the back garden is also mainly lawn with a sun trap patio and a pond while west of the house is an area dominated by an apple tree where I attempt to grow soft fruit bushes and vegetables it but also features a small greenhouse,and the hard-standing for the caravan .
Four doors along the road my partner lives in the original farm house, mine was built on land that was originally the orchard. Gardening is one of his least favourite pastimes, the main features of his front garden are his collection of cars,.
So I have plenty of garden to tend but gardening has only ever been a hobby/pastime and I cannot claim to have 'green fingers'

Latest photos

  • Daphne Mezereum Again Nov'12 (Daphne mezereum)
  • Daphne Mezereum Close Up Nov'12 (Daphne mezereum)
  • Daphne Mezereum Nov'12 (Daphne mezereum)
  • More Snowdrops Emerging Jan'13 (Galanthus nivalis)

Latest blogs

Our Project: a retreat in the Cerdagne

Posted on 14 Jul, 2013 11 comments

Windowsill Light Reflectors

Posted on 5 Apr, 2009 23 comments

Happy New Year Everyone

Posted on 1 Jan, 2009 12 comments

Latest questions

Contaminated pond

Asked on 19 Sep, 2008 4 replies

Miniature 'Nelly Moser' ?

Asked on 1 Jun, 2008 10 replies

How do water retaining gel crystals work ?

Asked on 2 May, 2008 4 replies


What else

Joined in Mar 2008

Country: United Kingdom

County: Buckinghamshire